Kenya’s Singing Children of Africa choir UK tour leaves Scotland for Yorkshire

0
806
Singing Children of Africa
The Singing Children of Africa with Derek Mackay MSP during their visit to Renfrewshire in August. Photo: Twitter/DerekMackaySNP

This week, Dumfries welcomed back The Singing Children of Africa choir which consists of young people aged nine to 16 from the Joluarabi School in northern Kenya on latest leg of their 2016 Smile Tour.

The choir were in the Scottish town, where they performed in concerts at St John’s Scottish Episcopal and St Andrew’s RC church as part of their British tour as well as taking part in lessons at St Teresa’s and St Andrew’s RC primaries.

The Singing Children of Africa was formed by Livingston-based charity Educate the Kids and the money raised from the project will help support the schools in Kenya run by the organisation.

Married couple Ian and Maureen McIntyre who founded Educate the Kids in 1998 told the Daily Record: “We are involved with around 800 children in Kenya. We want to expand the buildings there with a new classroom and IT resources. This week has raised awareness and the tour has boosted the confidence of the children.”

If you would like to see the choir during their current tour, the remains dates are:

Yorkshire

Friday 16th September 7pm
Ilkley Grammar School
Concert – Tickets £3

Saturday 17th September – 10–4pm
Leeds Trinity Center
Above the Apple Store

Sunday 18th September – 6.30pm
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, Burley Road, Menston, LS29 6PF
Free (Donations welcome)

Monday 19th September – 7pm
Bolton Abbey Church Skipton, BD23 6AL
Free (Donations welcome)

Wednesday 21st September – 7pm
All Saints Church Ilkley
Free (Donations welcome)

Thursday 22nd September – 1pm
Bradford College
Free (Donations welcome)

Friday 23rd September – Time TBC
Honley high school, Holmfirth
Free (Donations welcome)

Saturday 24th September – 6.30pm
Church of Jesus Christ of Later-day Saints Huddersfield
with meet and greet at 6pm

Friday 30th September – 6pm
Sydenham School Dartmouth road London SE26 4RD
Tickets £4

Saturday 1st October – 12.30-5pm
Jubilee community hall Tulse hill estate Brixton London SW2 2LY
Tickets £8

Somerset

Tuesday 4th October – 1.30pm
St Mary’s Church Berrow

Wednesday 5th October 7pm
St Andrews Church Burnham On Sea

Friday 7th October 7.45 pm
Beachcomber Warren Road Brean

Saturday 8th October 7pm
St. John’s Church Highbridge
Free Concert (Donations appreciated)

Saturday 8th October 7pm
St. John’s Church Highbridge
Free Concert (Donations appreciated)

Tuesday 11th October 7pm
Princess Theatre Burnham On Sea

Saturday 15th October 11am, 1pm, 3pm
The Mall, Cribbs Causeway Bristol